Rich Saal began at The State Journal-Register in 1985 as a staff photographer and was named photography editor in 2001. He has spent years researching the newspaper’s photo archives, revealing the remarkable historical and visual legacy created by the paper’s first staff photographers. He has assembled two exhibitions showcasing photography at The State Journal-Register including Our Town: A Visual Journey in 2005 featuring photos from 1936 to the present day and Springfield Photographs: Images From the Illinois State Journal Glass Plates 1929-1935.
On his second day on the job in July 1985, he covered the demolition of the former Illinois State Register building on Monroe Street in downtown Springfield, witnessing the end to an important chapter of local newspaper history. He is pleased to have the opportunity to bring to light another chapter from that story.
Please email Rich if you share an interest in newspaper photography collections from the early to mid 20th century or are concerned about their preservation.
email :: email@example.com
phone :: 217-788-1475